Monday, 15 June 2015

Three Books to Try if you Loved Friday Night Lights!

So, you may have been wondering where I've been? Maybe you haven't at all, but I'm going to tell you anyway. You see, there's this show called Friday Night Lights, and it has pretty much taken over my life. I'm not kidding. I can barely even bring myself to read or to blog at the moment, because all I want to do is check out Tim Riggins another episode of FNL.

But, all good things must come to an end: I just recently discovered FNL via Netflix, but the show actually ended back in 2011 after five seasons. I'm just about to start Season 4 (Man, those final two episodes of Season 3 - Friday Night Feels!) and so my time with FNL is quickly running out. 

What am I going to do when I have no more episodes to watch? Is there rehab for severe Post-FNL Trauma? Don't even answer that.

I guess what I'll have to do is go find myself some books that might just remind me of the show. 

Here goes...


 Until Friday Night by Abbi Glines || Release date: August 2015.

 To everyone who knows him, West Ashby has always been that guy: the cocky, popular, way-too-handsome-for-his-own-good football god who led Lawton High to the state championships. But while West may be Big Man on Campus on the outside, on the inside he’s battling the grief that comes with watching his father slowly die of cancer.

Two years ago, Maggie Carleton’s life fell apart when her father murdered her mother. And after she told the police what happened, she stopped speaking and hasn’t spoken since. Even the move to Lawton, Alabama, couldn’t draw Maggie back out. So she stayed quiet, keeping her sorrow and her fractured heart hidden away.

As West’s pain becomes too much to handle, he knows he needs to talk to someone about his father—so in the dark shadows of a post-game party, he opens up to the one girl who he knows won’t tell anyone else.

West expected that talking about his dad would bring some relief, or at least a flood of emotions he couldn’t control. But he never expected the quiet new girl to reply, to reveal a pain even deeper than his own—or for them to form a connection so strong that he couldn’t ever let her go…


*****



First & Then by Emma Mills || Release date: October 2015

Devon Tennyson wouldn't change a thing. She's happy watching Friday night games from the bleachers, silently crushing on best friend Cas, and blissfully ignoring the future after high school. But the universe has other plans. It delivers Devon's cousin Foster, an unrepentant social outlier with a surprising talent for football, and the obnoxiously superior and maddeningly attractive star running back, Ezra, right where she doesn't want them first into her P.E. class and then into every other aspect of her life.

Pride and Prejudice meets Friday Night Lights in this contemporary novel about falling in love with the unexpected boy, with a new brother, and with yourself.


****


 
All Lined Up by Cora Carmack || Release date: May 2014

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Cora Carmack follows up her trio of hits—Losing It, Faking It, and Finding It—with this thrilling first novel in an explosive series bursting with the Texas flavor, edge, and steamy romance of Friday Night Lights.

In Texas, two things are cherished above all else—football and gossip. My life has always been ruled by both.

Dallas Cole loathes football. That's what happens when you spend your whole childhood coming in second to a sport. College is her time to step out of the bleachers, and put the playing field (and the players) in her past.

But life doesn't always go as planned. As if going to the same college as her football star ex wasn’t bad enough, her father, a Texas high school coaching phenom, has decided to make the jump to college ball… as the new head coach at Rusk University. Dallas finds herself in the shadows of her father and football all over again.

Carson McClain is determined to go from second-string quarterback to the starting line-up. He needs the scholarship and the future that football provides. But when a beautiful redhead literally falls into his life, his focus is more than tested. It's obliterated.

Dallas doesn't know Carson is on the team. Carson doesn't know that Dallas is his new coach's daughter.

And neither of them know how to walk away from the attraction they feel.


*****


Friday Night Lights is actually referenced in the description for two of these books and the new Abbi Glines has Friday Night Lights written all over it (apart from the Lights part, ha!) so I think these three will be winners for me once I run out of episodes of FNL to watch. What do you think? Do you have any other FNL-alike book recommendations for me?

 I have never read Abbi Glines before, but I know that Cora Carmack's books are always good fun - and I really like the sound (and the cover) of First & Then by Emma Mills.
Let me know what you think (and any other receommendations you might have) in comments.

13 comments :

  1. ChristinaBookAddict15 June 2015 at 00:12

    YES! Yes! YES! I am so excited you are loving FNL and now want to read books inspired by it. I have all three books on my TBR list. I can't wait to read them.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I liked All Lined Up and I have the second book on my TBR pile. I want to read the other two books on your list. I don't know much about football but books like All Lined Up and Dairy Queen be Catherine Gilbert Murdock make me appreciate it more. I'll have to check out Friday Night Lights sometime.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Katie @ Book Arrows15 June 2015 at 01:34

    First & Then and Until Friday Night sound super cool so I'm adding them to my TBR. I'm still on Season 2 of FNL, but I'm hoping to finish the show this summer.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Ha! I needed a back up plan for when I finish the show! :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I don't know ANYTHING about football - but I love Friday Night Lights! You should definitely check it out. Such a good show!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I started on Season 4 last night! Season 2 is not the best as it was interrupted because of the writers strike - but it still has some great moments! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I've read All Lined Up and loved it even though I wasn't sure if it would be for me. Football is not one of my things! But I ADORED it, it was just so sweet and steamy. I haven't watched Friday Night Lights yet but I will check it out next time I'm on a Netflix binge which won't be for a while, as I've cancelled it for our so called summer!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Absolutely love FNL!! Need to finish it off once my crazy PGCE year is done :) Keeping an eye on the comments for more suggestions!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ahhhhh so glad you discovered FNL! Coach and Tami = Relationship Goals! Every episode gave me feels. I'm so glad it's on Netflix and I can relive it again! Have added all three books to my list :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Wow! Just cried ALL THE TEARS at this episode of FNL I just watched. Poor Julie. How could Matt leave and not even call her for three weeks?!! :'(

    ReplyDelete
  11. Ha! Yeah, we're really not having much of a summer yet! Friday Night Lights is great - definitely check it out!

    ReplyDelete
  12. I'm not sure if you're more into the books with teen characters or if you like contemporary adult romance (with a little heat added), but Katie Graykowski has a Texas Pro football team series called the Lone Stars. There are currently three books, though I've only read the first two so far. Ms Graykowski is a pretty awesome author though, she does an amazing job of conveying emotion through her writing. She's had me going through many a tissue before!!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Thanks for the recommendation! I will definitely check these out! :)

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it!

If you are a book blogger and have taken the time to comment, I will make sure to come visit your blog and return the favour. :)

Please note: This blog is now an award free zone. Thanks to everyone who has awarded the blog in the past.

Related Posts with Thumbnails