Thursday, 28 August 2014

Web Designer/HTML Wizard Wanted! (Needed!)

Hi guys!

I'm planning a design revamp on this little blog and was wondering if any of you html wizards out there could help me out - me being completely tech unsavvy and all.

Basically, I have purchased a new template for the blog, but I need some changes made to it - adding borders, changing a few things with the block quote layout, text changes etc. Nothing too big! My problem is that when I've looked on design website, I can't find these 'tweaking' services offered - it seems most web designers build templates from scratch - I can't seem to find any that modify pre-existing templates.

So, if you are a web designer/html wizard who does this kind of thing, or if you know of anyone who does - please let me know either by leaving a comment here or by sending me an email at daisychainbookreviews@gmail.com

--Feel free to include your quote etc. Payment will be made via Paypal.


Thanks!
------------

Thursday, 14 August 2014

Happy ISLA day!

I know, I know...

I KNOW!

I said I was taking a blog break, and I am -but I couldn't resist checking in today to celebrate the release of Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins. I've been wanting to read this book for a long, long time now and it's finally HERE!



So, are you reading?

Got a little ISLA party planned?

Were you lucky enough to get your hands on an early copy? If so, what did you think?

I'd love to know!

Happy ISLA day!







Wednesday, 6 August 2014

Wrapping up Summer Spotlight with an International GIVEAWAY & a Blogging Break!


Time to wrap up my Summer Spotlight feature and say goodbye to all those bright and breezy summer contemps that I've been enjoying over the last few months. I'm very much a seasonal reader - and as the days get shorter and the nights get longer I'm already building my Halloween reading list! 

But, I couldn't say goodbye to summer without mentioning some of my favourite reads of summer 2014 and a special giveaway for YOU!


Summer 2014 Favourites

To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han

The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen
(Sa-woon!)

Open Road Summer by Emery Lord

A Midsummer's Nightmare by Kody Keplinger


Honorable Mentions

Come Back to Me by Mila Gray

Lobsters by Tom Ellen & Lucy Ivison

Brooklyn Girls: Angie by Gemma Burgess

Nantucket Red by Leila Howland

------------


If you'd like to win ONE of the books from my list of summer favourites and honorable mentions, then just fill in the Rafflecopter form below.
The usual rules & T&C's apply: Check them out here.
One winner will win one book from the eight listed above.
Competition is International -wherever The Book Depository ships.
The book will be purchased or pre-ordered and shipped direct to the winner from The Book Depository.
OR
I will personally ship the book to the winner if I have a duplicate copy of the book in my possession.
Competition closes: August 29th 2014.


a Rafflecopter giveaway


-----

And now, with Summer Spotlight all wrapped up, it's time for me to take a blogging break! I need these blogging breathers once in while to catch up on reading and on life!

Expect to see me back sometime in September with reviews of some great new releases (ISLA is on my radar, as is Trial by Fire by Josie Angelini) and possibly some new features too!

See you then!

P.S: I'll still be hanging out on Twitter and Goodreads during my break if you want to say hi! :)  


--------

Corvus & Lovereading Team Up for Love At First Write - an exciting competition for debut romantic novelists!


Do you have a romantic novel in you?


 Is it based around an original first encounter?


From Romeo and Juliet’s fateful kiss to Elizabeth’s clash with the proud, rude Mr Darcy at the Meryton ball, writers have proved that true love springs from the most unlikely of encounters.
LoveAtFirstWrite is looking for a romantic novel with an original set-up, written with flair and charm, so that its creator can find their happy-ever-after with their new publisher.

So if you are a debut novelist looking for your first publisher, it's time to enter the LoveAtFirstWrite competition in partnership with Corvus and Lovereading. Simply tweet the idea for your novel @CorvusBooks #loveatfirstwrite and send us a book synopsis and first chapter to loveatfirstwrite@atlantic-books.co.uk between 12th September and 12th October 2014.

Entries will be read by the Corvus editorial team, then a shortlist judged by a dedicated panel of experts, including Maddie West, Corvus Editorial Director, Sarah Broadhurst, Lovereading Lead Reviewer, Elisabeth Gifford, author of The Secrets of the Sea House and Lindsey Mooney, Kobo Vendor Manager, UK & Ireland.

Entrants will need to submit the following:
1) A book synopsis
2) The first chapter (no more than 5,000 words)
3) The story can come from any genre of romantic fiction but the entry must show the protagonists’ first meeting.
Entrants must not have been previously published and should be based in the UK or Ireland. 
Entrants are also encouraged to tweet how their characters meet in less than 140 characters @CorvusBooks.


The winner will be announced in November 2014, and will have their novel published by Corvus as an eBook and paperback original in 2015.
 
Good luck & happy writing!




Source: Press release.

Monday, 4 August 2014

Book Review: Dear Daughter by Elizabeth Little.


Product details:
Publisher: Harvill Secker.
Hardcover, 400 pages.
Release date: August 7th 2014.
Rating:  4 out of 5.
Ages: Adult.
Source: Received from publisher for review.

'As soon as they processed my release Noah and I hit the ground running. A change of clothes. A wig. An inconspicuous sedan. We doubled back once, twice, then drove south when we were really headed east. In San Francisco we had a girl who looked like me board a plane to Hawaii.

Oh, I thought I was so clever.

But you probably already know that I'm not.'

LA It girl Janie Jenkins has it all. The looks, the brains, the connections. The criminal record.

Ten years ago, in a trial that transfixed America, Janie was convicted of murdering her mother. Now she's been released on a technicality she's determined to unravel the mystery of her mother's last words, words that send her to a tiny town in the very back of beyond. But with the whole of America's media on her tail, convinced she's literally got away with murder, she has to do everything she can to throw her pursuers off the scent.

She knows she really didn't like her mother. Could she have killed her?

Billed as ‘Gone Girl meets Mean GirlsDear Daughter, Elizabeth Little’s fiction debut introduces Janie Jenkins, a former Hollywood IT girl who, age seventeen, was jailed for her mother’s brutal murder. Ten years later, Janie is free on a technicality, but the world at large still believes her to be a cold-blooded killer. With the media - led by a blogger who is out for Janie’s blood- on her trail, Janie’s re-integration into society was never going to be easy. In fact, it’s impossible for Janie to live any kind of normal life at all. Then again, Janie Jenkins never wanted to be normal; what she wanted was notoriety – and she got that in spades.  Janie’s memories of the night her mother died are hazy, but she’s sure there’s more to the story than meets the eye.  While Janie pretty much hated her mother, she’s just not sure she’s capable of murder.

Then again, maybe she is.

I first read the blurb for Dear Daughter back in May of last year when the rights sold, and ever since then it’s been sitting pretty right at the very top of my wish list.  Give me something that promises the new Gone Girl, and I am all over it. Unfortunately while I’ve read a whole lot of ‘next Gone Girls’ I’ve yet to find one that measures up to the dark, twisty brilliance of Gillian Flynn’s mega-hit.  Dear Daughter has a lot of great selling points; it is stylish and scandalous, the writing is stellar, and, as anti-heroines go, Little has hit the jackpot with Janie Jenkins: smart, quick-witted and with an acid tongue, Janie has a perfectly cutting answer for everything thrown her way.  Dear Daughter is a page-turner too; you’ll want to read it in one-sitting. But where Dear Daughter all falls down is in its conclusion, which, in contrast to the dark edge-of-you-seat tone of the book, is all a little rushed and formulaic, even light-hearted and comedic at times. Less Gone Girl then, more Murder She Wrote.

Dear Daughter is a smart read, but, I fear not as smart as it likes to think it is: a little bit like Janie herself. A certain amount of suspension of disbelief is needed for true enjoyment of this book, because certain elements of Janie’s tale just don’t add up, especially when her search into the truth about her mother’s murder leads her to an isolated small Twin Peaks-esque town where everyone has a secret.   I guess I can’t go into detail here because then I’ll be delving deep into spoiler territory, but there were elements of this story that didn’t work for me; the plot seemed to be tightly woven at first, but if I took a second to question it, then it unravelled. So, my best advice here is to not question too much- just go with it and enjoy the ride.  Enjoy Janie. Enjoy the cryptic clues and the strange small town. And enjoy trying to figure out the mystery of it all.

Ultimately, while Dear Daughter won’t be making my end-of-year favourites list, it is possibly one of the best written debuts I’ve read in a while.  I loved Little’s style and voice, and certainly look forward to reading more from her in the future. I felt like Dear Daughter needed a bigger twist; something really dark right at the end to astonish me and leave me dumbfounded. It doesn’t have that, but it does have a whole lot more to savour and enjoy. Check it out if you enjoyed Gone Girl or Reconstructing Amelia by Kimberly McCreight.
Related Posts with Thumbnails