Saturday, 12 March 2011

Cover Candy Special Edition: Next in a Series Cover Love!

When I first started this blog, my main objective was just to keep track of all the different series I was reading.  Since I've been blogging and reading more and more first in a series books, it's impossible for me to keep up with every series, but what I do like to keep up with is those shiny book covers!

All of these are worthy cover candy picks, and even though I haven't yet read Anna and the French Kiss (eek It's next on my list - promise!) I love the cover and description of Lola and the Boy Next Door.

What's your favourite cover amongst these?

Which book are you most excited for?

*Please Note: Spoilers may be included for the first book in the synopsis for the second book.

******************************

 OK - there's a reason I haven't read Anna and the French Kiss yet, and it's this.: Anna was released in December, and I wanted to save it for springtime, because it seemed like a springtime book, and it's set in Paris. I love Paris in the springtime! So, that's why. I will be reading it soon.  Everybody I know loved it! I'm already excited to meet Lola and this hot boy next door!



Lola and the Boy Next Door
Publisher: Dutton.
Release date: September 29th 2011
Ages: 14+

n this companion novel to Anna and the French Kiss, two teens discover that true love may be closer than they think.

For budding costume designer Lola Nolan, the more outrageous the outfit—more sparkly, more fun, more wild—the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins move back into the house next door.

When the family returns and Cricket—a gifted inventor and engineer—steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.



Check out the beautiful cover for Beautiful Days, the follow up to Anna Godbersen's Bright Young Things.  While I didn't love Bright Young Things, I did feel as though the storyline picked up towards the end of the book, and I'm looking forward to seeing what lies in store for  Cordelia, Letty and Astrid in Beautiful Days!



Beautiful Days by Anna Godbersen
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release date: September 20th 2011
Ages: 14+

In this must-have sequel to Bright Young Things, Cordelia and Letty are small-town girls no longer. Letty is ready at last to chase her Broadway dreams. Cordelia thought she lost her true love, but a chance meeting will change her fortune—and her future. The unflappable flapper Astrid Donal has promised herself to Charlie Grey, Cordelia’s half-brother, but isn’t sure their love is true enough to survive. And a bitter rivalry will ensnare them all in a dangerous feud played out in the speakeasies of Manhattan and on the great lawns of Long Island. As these bright young things live out their beautiful days in the summer of 1929, they find romance and heartbreak, adventure and intrigue, new friends and unexpected rivals.
Fans of The Luxe series, A Great and Terrible Beauty, Martin Scorsese’s hit HBO series Boardwalk Empire, and, of course, The Great Gatsby, will delight in the Jazz Age setting, a time when girls were enjoying newfound freedom and excitement could be found behind any door in Manhattan. 


Matched by Ally Condie was the first YA dystopian I read when it was released last year  It was much-hyped around the blogosphere, and I will admit that it fell a little short for me.  It was just too slow moving for my tastes, and I needed a hotter romance! However, I like the cover for Crossed. I like how it depicts Cassia breaking free of the restraints of her society.  The colour choice is also interesting if you've read the first book. I'm guessing there will be some red in the cover of the third book!




Crossed by Ally Condie
Publisher: Dutton
Release date: November 1st 2011
Ages: 13+

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky — taken by the Society to his certain death — only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.

Cassia’s quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border. But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander — who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia’s heart — change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.


 Last but not least is Vanish, the follow up to Firelight by Sophie Jordan.  I can't wait to discover the mystery of the cover, and the major twist in the story that I've heard is going to happen.  I'm definitely counting down the days to this one!




Vanish by Sophie Jordan
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release date: September 6th 2011
Ages: 12+

To save the life of the boy she loves, Jacinda did the unthinkable: She betrayed the most closely-guarded secret of her kind. Now she must return to the protection of her pride knowing she might never see Will again—and worse, that because his mind has been shaded, Will’s memories of that fateful night and why she had to flee are gone.

Back home, Jacinda is greeted with hostility and must work to prove her loyalty for both her sake and her family’s. Among the few who will even talk to her are Cassian, the pride’s heir apparent who has always wanted her, and her sister, Tamra, who has been forever changed by a twist of fate. Jacinda knows that she should forget Will and move on—that if he managed to remember and keep his promise to find her, it would only endanger them both. Yet she clings to the hope that someday they will be together again. When the chance arrives to follow her heart, will she risk everything for love?

In bestselling author Sophie Jordan’s dramatic follow-up to Firelight, forbidden love burns brighter than ever.



* Please note: These covers may not be  final and may be subject to change.

23 comments :

  1. I'm really excited about Vanish. I LOVED the first one.

    ReplyDelete
  2. These covers are fantastic. I still have to read the first books of all of them, but they are looking good! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. The progression of Matched to Crossed reminds me a lot of the Hunger Games cover progression. I bet the third book will have her out of the bubble :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Crossed and Vanish are both great covers. I'm with you and can't wait to find out what's behind the Vanished cover!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Crossed and Vanish for me. I'm so ridiculously excited for both, and the covers are amazing. I'm easily pleased ;)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Crossed and Vanish are just amazing! I think those are my two favourites!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Fantastic covers! I have both Anna and the French Kiss and Bright Young Things , but I haven't read them yet. I like the girl on the cover of Lola and the Boy Next Door. Purple hair! :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. First of all I just want to say thanks so much for visiting my blog! It's been great discovering all the different blogs out there & yours looks ace. I really like the layout and I'll have to spend some time reading all your author interviews :)

    As for the covers, I think Crossed looks eye-catching, and I definitely agree with you about the colour choice!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I love all these covers. I especially excited for Lola and The Boy Next Door. I can't wait for you to read Anna. I am pretty sure you are going to love it!

    ReplyDelete
  10. I'm excited for all of these. Especially VANISH! Though I haven't read any of their prequels! :O

    ReplyDelete
  11. Lola and the Boy Next Door is super cute! I like that we see their faces on this one. I have read Matched yet but Crossed looks awesome. Love her breaking out. Vanished is pretty, too. But so was Firelight.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Soooo pretty! Ok this post was not good for me, I'm way too excited and hyper right now! My favourite has to be Crossed by Ally Condie love how she's breaking out of the bubble that had her trapped in book one! But OMG so many prettys!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I know what you mean. I have so many series on the go that I know I could just go on for years just reading the sequels lol.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Crossed and Vanish are just both amazing covers! l really love this post =)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Love all of these covers, especially Vanish. I am probably most excited for Lola b/c I LOVED Anna and the French Kiss, which I can't wait for you to read, by the way. Bright Young Things fell short for me, so I am not 100% sure I'll pick up Beautiful Days, although I adore that cover. Thanks for sharing these covers!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Actually my favorite is on the sidebar - Desires of the Dead
    Ann

    ReplyDelete
  17. I love all the covers, especially Lola and The Boy Next Door probably because I can't wait for the release of it.

    ReplyDelete
  18. These are all great covers! I think Beautiful Days would have to be my favorite though. I just can't get enough of the flapper era!

    ReplyDelete
  19. I LOVE the cover for Crossed!! And that purple hair on Lola rocks!

    ReplyDelete
  20. I love how each of these covers matches the first book in the series. The girl on Vanish looks like a very convincing draki.

    ReplyDelete
  21. How pretty is Vanish! Thanks for sharing these gorgeous covers!

    ReplyDelete
  22. Oh, I didn't know Bright Young Things has a sequel! Thanks for sharing this info. I've got Bright Young Things on my TBR pile, now I'll wait some more months so that I won't have to wait that long to read its sequel.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it!

If you are a book blogger and have taken the time to comment, I will make sure to come visit your blog and return the favour. :)

Please note: This blog is now an award free zone. Thanks to everyone who has awarded the blog in the past.

Related Posts with Thumbnails