Sunday, 6 April 2014

Stacking The Shelves #5 - New Books From Becca Fitzpatrick, Lauren Barnholdt, Ali Harris & More!

Stacking The Shelves is hosted at Tynga's Reviews.
Links Lead to Goodreads 

I haven't done a Stacking The Shelves post in about three weeks now, so I have a LOT of books to share. Let's get to it! Also, I need to go on a Netgalley/Edelweiss ban. Seriously.

Received for Review 



Written in the Stars by Ali Harris (Netgalley)
Open Road Summer by Emery Lord (Netgalley)

The First Last Kiss by Ali Harris was my favourite read of 2013 and I've been very excited to get my hands on her new release - even more excited when I spotted it on Netgalley a whole two months before it releases. Yay! Can't wait to get started on this.

Open Road Summer has been getting a bunch of review love from my Goodreads friends and it looks like a pretty sweet summer read! 




Above by Isla Morley
Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick (Edelweiss)
Storm by Brigid Kemmerer (Blog Tour)
The Long Fall by Julia Crouch

I hadn't heard a whole lot about ABOVE by Isla Morley until it landed on my doorstep, but let's just say after reading the Press Release and accompanying blurbs, my interest is most definitely piqued for this one! 

BLACK ICE, the highly anticipated new novel from Hush, Hush author Becca Fitzpatrick showed up on Edelweiss - I grabbed - and then the day after I was approved the copy EXPIRED (?!!) Thankfully, as already mentioned I had GRABBED as I have previous experience with Edelweiss copies expiring twenty-four hours after the approval email has been sent. This happened to me with Lauren Oliver's Delirium and let's just say I learned my lesson. I now grab copies from Edelweiss immediately, and currently have 48 days to read Black Ice before it expires on my eReader.

I'm on the Blog Tour for STORM by Brigid Kemmerer on April 15th. I've heard a lot of good things about this one and the Goodreads reviews seems wholly positive. 

I'm totally sold on the premise of THE LONG FALL by Julia Crouch a summer mystery which takes place in two time periods; Greece in 1980 and present day London. Sounds good!



The Best Thing I Never Had by Erin Lawless (Blog Tour)
The Hurricane Sisters by Dorothea Benton Frank (Edelweiss)
Through to You by Lauren Barnholdt (Edelweiss)
American Blonde by Jennifer Niven (Edelweiss)

Man, I really need to cut back on my Edelweiss requests! The Hurricane Sisters sounds like a great summer saga and I'm always excited to check out anything new by Lauren Barnholdt. I haven't heard much at all about American Blonde, but I LOVE anything Old Hollywood so I'll check it out! The blurb of The Best Thing I Never Had promises that it's perfect for fans of One Day so that sounds good to me!



Bought


If Only by A.J. Pine
The Love of my Life by Louise Douglas


Phew! And that is it! This post tells me that while I turn down a lot of books I'm sent for review, I'll still never have enough time to read ALL THE BOOKS! It's a good problem to have, I guess. Could be worse!

It's around this time of year that I always seem to take a break from blogging, and it's no different this year. I am partaking in a couple of blog tours this month, but apart from that it'll probably be pretty quiet around here for the next few weeks as I have other important things to do like binge watch House of Cards, catch up on True Detective and check out the new season of Game of Thrones, although maybe not at 2 in the a.m. 


Current Read: Far From You by Tess Sharpe. 




18 comments :

  1. That's a lot of books hun! Wow! I loved If Only, I hope you love it too, and I'm excited to see what you say about Open Road Summer and Far From You, I haven't heard much about them yet. Have fun reading! :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. ChristinaBookAddict6 April 2014 at 14:21

    I put in a request for Open Road Summer too. That one sounds awesome and I hope I get approved. The Hurricane Sisters also sounds like something I'd love….must find that one on Edelweiss. I can't wait to hear your thoughts on Black Ice…but only 48 hours to read it? Crazy! I hear you about a blog break. I am taking one from April 14th- May 1st. Are you all caught up on Game of Thrones? So excited for the new season, which starts tonight!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read any of these, I am excited for your reviews!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

    ReplyDelete
  4. I know! I really have to cut back on Netgalley and Edelweiss requests - there is no way I'll ever get around to reading all of these! If Only sounds like a fun read!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Hurricane Sisters definitely sounds like something you'd like Christina - it sounds like a great summer saga! I am not sure what is going on with Black Ice. Maybe they approved too many copies and tried to take them back! I am caught up on Game of Thrones and ready for the new season! I wonder who'll die this time round!

    ReplyDelete
  6. kirstymariejonesstudioreads6 April 2014 at 17:22

    Open Road Summer! YES. Seriously been hearing nothing but good things about it, and it does seem like a real fun one as well. I've only just requested The Long Fall, I don't usually request/review adults but it just sounded too good not to. Hope you enjoy them and thanks for stopping by mine earlier. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I really need to cut back on my Netgalley/Edelweiss requests. I think the only way to do it is to stop logging on!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Open Road Summer has been getting a ton of great reviews. I agree on The Long Fall - I'm trying to stop requesting books as my Netgalley rating has nosedived, but I couldn't resist that one!

    ReplyDelete
  9. LittleMissBecky6 April 2014 at 22:26

    The Long Fall looks amazing, I'm intrigued by stories that jump between time periods! And what a gorgeous cover!!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Open Road Summer and Through To You both sound like amazing contemporaries! They're two of my most anticipated 2014 releases. Storm is a great read, too. I hope you enjoy all of your books :)

    Montana @ The Book Belles

    ReplyDelete
  11. I haven't heard much about these, but wow, some of them seem VERY interesting, especially Above! Hope you enjoy them, and thanks for stopping by my STS :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. American Blonde and The Hurricane Sisters sound really good. Can't wait to read what you think!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Addie and Eva captivated me. Their story was amazing. The idea of having two souls in one body was a very interesting concept and Zhang was able to use split points of view really well. This is a definite must read.
    Best site for Divorce Attorney Seattle Information

    ReplyDelete
  14. Wow this is an amazing haul Leanna! I'm quite excited about Black Ice and Open Road Summer, they both sound like fantastic reads! I can't wait to see how you get on with them! Happy reading! :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. SO many great books! I didn't know Becca had a new book out...I hope you enjoy them all! :)

    ReplyDelete
  16. I can't wait to read Open Road Summer!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Nice assortment of books. I'm with you on the NetGalley/Edelweiss ban. Somehow I managed to get 16 YA books that are all being released in May onto my stack. I don't know what I was thinking!

    Come see what I got at Inside of a Dog and Ms. Martin Teaches Media. Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it!

If you are a book blogger and have taken the time to comment, I will make sure to come visit your blog and return the favour. :)

Please note: This blog is now an award free zone. Thanks to everyone who has awarded the blog in the past.

Related Posts with Thumbnails