Sunday, 16 March 2014

Stacking The Shelves #4 - New Books From Cat Clarke, Philippa Gregory, Laini Taylor & More!

Stacking The Shelves is hosted at Tynga's Reviews.
Links Lead to Goodreads


Received for Review



I delved into A Kiss in the Dark pretty much as soon as it arrived, and I'm glad to report that this is yet another read-it-in-one-sitting page-turner from Cat Clarke. Expect my review in early April along with a Q&A with Cat.

I usually steer clear of Fantasy. With few exceptions, it's really not my kind of thing. However, I've been hearing good things about The Winner's Curse, so I decided to give it a try. The synopsis piqued my interest, as did the 4.23 Goodreads average.




Amity: For fans of Stephen King and American Horror Story. Inspired by the Amityville Horror. Sold.

How to Fall: YA crime/mystery/thriller - Yes, please. I want to read more YA of this type, and I've been meaning to check out something by Jane Casey for a while now.

Unravelling Oliver: Adult psychological suspense. This is the opening line: 'I expected more of a reaction the first time I hit her.' Sold. I've heard this is a very good read.


Bought





Follow the Links: This week, I guest bogged about YA Thrillers at #Hashtag Reads. I also discussed the perils of Book Buzz and Marketing Hype in this post: Book Hype:  Do You Buy It? Have You Been Burnt By It?

Current Read: Dead Silence by Kimberly Derting.


That's it for this week! Leave your thoughts and links in comments!


20 comments :

  1. ChristinaBookAddict16 March 2014 at 11:58

    Fantastic books this week.I am dying to hear your thoughts on Winner's Curse. I have read some outstanding reviews, so I will probably buy it eventually. I also really enjoyed The White Princess…love that series…I wish they would have continued with The White Queen TV show. :( Ok, so Amity looks SO creepy. Amityville Horror is one scary movie I actually watched in its entirety long ago and it scared the crap out of me. I am sure this book would freak me out as well….can't wait to hear your thoughts!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Really cool haul! I really need to read Days of Blood and Starlight as well - I did like the first book. :) Happy reading!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Winner's Curse looks really good and I've been seeing it a lot on STS posts this week. Can't wait to see what you think of it.


    Thanks for stopping by at my blog and happy reading! :)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for stopping by my STS! I just finished The Winner's Curse, I liked it a lot but the beginning was a little slow for me. Enjoy your new reads!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've really been loving fantasy books as of late and couldn't wait to dive into my copy of The Winner's Curse. I was quite impressed by it too! Also I can't wait to see how you get on with Days of Blood and Starlight! Happy reading! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. The Winner's Curse again! There's always one book in the community you see more than others and it's definitely this one right now. I'm looking forward to reading it, it has such a high rating on Goodreads it's got to be good surely.

    ★ Under The Mountain ★

    ReplyDelete
  7. Can't wait to hear what you think of Days of Blood and Starlight! Did you love the first book?
    I'm so excited about the last book of the trilogy.


    By the way, I just started reading The Winner's Curse as well, hope it turns out to be really good just like what most of people said :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I am extremely excited to read A Kiss In The Dark! I love Cat Clarke and look forward to your review and Q&A! Amity is on my TBR list! Thanks for sharing and enjoy your new reads :)

    ReplyDelete
  9. The Winner's Curse seems to be burning up the blogs, so I hope you enjoy it too! I'm interested in seeing what you think of Amity. I do love horror, but I like a happy ending too. That doesn't always happen with horror. Enjoy your reads!

    ReplyDelete
  10. LittleMissBecky16 March 2014 at 22:22

    I loved Cat Clarke's first book, but I haven't read any of the others! Entangled was so amazing, though! Sigh---I feel like I am the only person on the planet who did not absolutely fall in love with Winner's Curse, I thought it was really good, but nothing I would consider a new favorite. Amity looks super creepy! I read the original Amityville Horror years and years ago, so scary! I will definitely be checking that one out!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Reviews from a Bookworm17 March 2014 at 00:31

    Nice haul! I might be slightly, okay very jealous that you have The Winner's Curse. I can't wait to get my hands on that one. I hope you enjoy your books :) My STS.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I am so surprised to hear you watched The Amityville Horror! You are so brave! ;) I hope The Winner's Curse lives up to the hype!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Glad to hear you enjoyed The Winner's Curse. I've heard a lot of good things and I'm trying not to set my expectations too high!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I rarely read fantasy so I'm hoping The Winner's Curse works for me. Fingers crossed!

    ReplyDelete
  15. I know! The Winner's Curse is getting lots of buzz right now!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Yes, I really liked the first book, so I don't know why it's taken me so long to get around to read this! I'll keep an eye out for your review of The Winner's Curse!

    ReplyDelete
  17. Thanks, Keeley! A Kiss in the Dark is another good one from Cat Clarke!

    ReplyDelete
  18. I haven't heard anything about Amity, so I hope it lives up to the description. Definitely sounds like a creepy read!

    ReplyDelete
  19. Oh, now I'm worried I won't love The Winner's Curse since we seem to have similar reading tastes. I haven't read Entangled, but I plan to read all of Cat Clarke's books eventually.

    ReplyDelete
  20. The Winner's Curse is on Netgalley!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I really appreciate it!

If you are a book blogger and have taken the time to comment, I will make sure to come visit your blog and return the favour. :)

Please note: This blog is now an award free zone. Thanks to everyone who has awarded the blog in the past.

Related Posts with Thumbnails